Reader’s Guide

Adult content

This collection of original fiction includes explicit sexual content, swearing, and violence. It is intended for mature readers.

The Principle of Moments is a multi-braned, multi-brained, experiment-in-progress. The branes will be presented as separate “books” made up of “chapters” which are made up of “episodes.” At the time of this writing, December 2009, our first Chapter is complete in three episodes, and the first two episodes of the second chapter are available. Episodes will appear more or less every three days– more or less.

For our friends on Dreamwidth, a feed is available at

on livejournal we are syndicated at

About the books

There is a violinist, who finds domestic happiness just before his life explodes in his face. There’s a beautiful woman who doesn’t actually come from Australia.

There’s an ex-military man, now a financial wizard, with terrifying nightmares.

There’s a young woman, who only wants security and safety for her young son, and finds herself living a fairytale. There is a prince under a malicious spell. There is a man with a mission.

There is a Caribbean smuggler who is forced onto the land in charge of the strangest crew she could possibly imagine. There’s a man who was a brutal killer, now changed beyond his imagining. There is a Puss in Boots.

There are people who are more, or less, than human. There’s a miserable old alcoholic, who may hold the keys to many mysteries in his addled brain.

These separate life-threads all barrel toward collision on some acreage that isn’t quite water and isn’t quite land and isn’t quite tame and may be very beautiful, but can be very harsh.

There is chronology in these books– not quite linear. But it’s there. There’s a principle to these moments, each chapter made up of episodes, moments, ideas, images

Out of Time; Toys, Tools, and Pleasures

The Pillow Books

We write a lot of sex. Porn, schmoop, loving, harsh. Sometimes it has no place in the story line. Thus, pillowbooks.


little gems, exercises, conversations between characters, spiral-bound notebook stuff.

The Library (References and Oddments)

This is an archive the cool ideas we came across, the great links, the oddments we don’t want to forget. This is also the place to hear some of the music we’re talking about, or view referenced artwork.

Morning Has Broken

It’s quiet when he opens his eyes in a shaft of bright light.  He frowns, feels that the hollow next to him is barely warm, and that Drin must have tucked up the sheets around him.  He feels a hot coal of warning light up in his tailbone when he …

Pillow Fight

Emma gets up off the rumpled bed and walks back and forth, hands on hips.  “I’m not sure we’ll be able to dodge these people if they really want to find us.  We have no idea what resources they have, what kind of money they put into research, what–” “Now …

Bad Moon Rising

“The bees came to find you,” Dance says. Drin glances at the tree.  “They swarmed?” “I called your beekeeping friends, as you say to do.” “Oh, that explains it,” Drin says. Dance tilts his head up in a precise jerk just like the little bright praying mantis they had been …

Bad Blues and Flat Tires

Doctor Alexander nods politely when the Chu twins settle on stools on either side of him.  He appreciates the strength in the slender fingers as they touch his shoulder in greeting, the claw prickles gently reminding him they could rip him stem to stern.  Their muscles are not as subtle.  …


The car murmurs with Drin’s voice.  “Yeah, the Board decided to pay for guest conductors for the two shows after that, because Bud lined up a couple of his candidates for demonstration purposes, and Young will finish up this next event, unpaid.  If I was the insurance adjuster I wouldn’t …

Hearing Test

The Board meeting is quite different from anything they’d expected.  Something had certainly changed, as the just-elected Chairmen is the new member, Evans, who is known now to be retired from federal tax law enforcement work. Richard Young is not attending.  Plus, some of the usual obstructionist faces are missing. …


Emma is cursing when they get home.  She bangs things around in the kitchen, throws herself into a chair at the table, and points at steaming mugs of tea sitting on the table. “Thank you,” Dance says, and settles into his usual chair, and sips carefully at the hot fluid.  …


The percussionist with the tats rips loose with profanity in the conductor’s office.  Diane Rosey’s voice scales up louder and louder.  “You just try, Mister, you just try it, and I’ll rip your fuckin’ head off!” “Oh shit,” Amelia mutters. Dance rubs more rosin gently on his fingertips, and brings …